Posted by: viaprograms | June 30, 2010

Celebrating 30 Years in China

“I look back on my time as a VIA teacher as one of the most consequential in my life. I was able to learn so much about myself by stepping totally outside my previous experiences. I was able to impact the lives of others through my teaching and the friendships I formed. And I was able to witness history, as the events of Tiananmen Square and their aftermath reverberated even in the small town where I lived.”

-Deborah Crane, Ma’anshan, Anhui (1987-89)

2010 marks the 30th year VIA has sent volunteers to China. To commemorate the occasion, VIA’s China Program Director surveyed select alumni from the past 30 years to learn how VIA has impacted them and to rekindle some of their favorite memories from their time in China. Read more about it in the latest edition of Serendipity, the annual VIA China newsletter.

Responses

  1. 中国!


Leave a Reply

Categories