Posted by: viaprograms | September 21, 2010

Translating Signs in Việt Nam

Việt Nam is full of signs and billboards put up by the national government. In many cases I think these billboards substitute for lack of control or power in a region.  Not that the national government is powerless, it’s just that the longer I’m here the more Việt Nam seems like a country where control and enforcement of national will is maintained in a few large cities.  Elsewhere local officials control things, and people do largely what they want.
The pictures below are signs, translated poorly by myself. Some of my favorites I haven’t been able to get pictures of yet. Luckily I’m not going anywhere.

-Vietnam Volunteer Brandon Caesar

Leave a Reply

Categories