Posted by: viaprograms | January 14, 2011

Charity Bicylce Ride Across China

Yoson (Joe) Chen, is a graduate from GETCH, an Asia Programs post in Guangzhou, China, as well as Stanford Programs participant in AUSL (Asia-U.S.-Service-Learning) Program 2008.  In 2010, Joe joined a cycling team committed to promoting the 2010 Guagnzhou Asian Games and low-carbon traveling.  Their team biked to 18 provinces, and many cities and districts in China.  To let people know about the Asian Games, they delivered speeches at schools and collected calligraphy and paintings from famous artists to later sell at a charity bazaar upon their return. Below Joe writes in his own words.

Peng you, ni hao! My name is Yoson, and I’m a young man who is cycling around China to promote the 2010 Guangzhou Asian Games.  In the past two months, I have been to 16 provinces, cities and districts, including Shanghai, Tianjin and Beijing, Hong Kong, Taipei, Lhasa, Mount Everest.

After traveling to so many wonderful places in China, I am so excited now and can’t wait to share about my experience.   In the following letter, I have attached all of the most beautiful pictures that I have, and each one has very special meaning to me or tells a great story which impressed me a lot!

I made this in a short time and not very professionally, but with all my heart, to share my sorrow and happiness with you!

To read more about Joe’s trip, open the letter he has written here.

Leave a Reply

Categories